Being a light in a dark world.

We live in a cold world. I have said it plenty of times, and to be truthful, I will say it a few dozen more times before my last post I am sure of that. There is so much ugly and hurt in this world. So much hate, jealousy, sickness and fight. You can’t flip on the news without hearing of a shooting or a bombing or dying anymore. You can’t scroll through your newsfeed on Facebook or Instagram or Twitter, or wherever else you look, without seeing photos of victims. See their haunted eyes and their weary bodies. The world has been ate up by greed and hatred. People are fleeing their homelands to try and get away from monsters, but they still chase.

Monsters don’t come wrapped up in a black box where you always know who they are and what their intentions are. They come in every gender, age, nationality. They are every profession. I just read an article today on an (Ex) NFL player who took out a hit on his pregnant girlfriend so he wouldn’t have to pay child support. So he made the choice that killing a woman and his baby would be much easier then sending a check from his high salary every month. The child survived, thankfully.  But that is the type of world we live in. Where people get tired of looking at something and decide to take them out. We live in a world ruled by “Political Correctness” rather than compassion and stability.

*I started to write this post roughly a week ago and to be honest, I got so upset while trying to gather my thoughts into actual words that I just saved this bad boy as a draft and told myself I would just have to come back to it.

My heart aches for this world, for the people who live in constant fear, the children that seem to be left behind, the animals who get kicked, shot, drowned because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Every time I turn on the news and I see another face of a child with no shoes and defeat in his eyes all I can think is, “We did this. We made the world ugly.” Because we did. Because we turned our backs on the drunks, the homeless, the hurting and the lost. We looked the other way when they fell in the streets, in the rain, in the dirt. We said, “But that isn’t my problem. I didn’t lose my job, try meth, have a baby at 15. I MADE the right choices in my life. I went to school and graduated. I got a job and paid my dues.” And you know what? You’re right. You are absolutely correct, you didn’t make their mistakes. You did what you needed to do, for you and your own. But you can’t tell me you’ve never needed help. The world as we know it, well I don’t foresee it staying the same. Can’t we band together to love each other? To help each other? Because everyone needs a little help every once in a while.

I am a Christian but I don’t know that I have been a good one. You see, with everything that has been going on in the world I find myself scared, terrified about what the outcome will be. I worry about if it’s the end of times and if it is, will I end up where I want to be? When I first heard about the refuges coming this way my initial thought was, “No. We can’t even accommodate for our vets, our homeless, our own people!” And while I still feel like all of that is the truth, who am I to say that they can’t be helped? Who am I, who claims love above else, to say no? Yes, I am apprehensive to give my home up to a stranger, but at the end of  the day I am not showing any love to anyone if my heart is turned away. I worry that I don’t show the love of Christ enough, and frankly, I probably don’t. I can’t tell you the last time I visited a church, or cracked my bible open. I pray, but most of the time it ends up being a generic “Thank you for my home, food, husband, dog, cats, job. Please bring my best friend home safe. Thank you. Amen.” I don’t thirst for Him like I did before, I don’t think constantly of Him like before. Why? I have no clue. But I can tell you something, that’s gotta change.

*So, this post has kinda taken a different leap (I guess would be the best term) from what I had intended, but if I am being honest, my posts start with a word or an idea and just spawn from there!

John 15:12 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you…”

Read more: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verse-about-helping-others-21-top-scriptures/#ixzz3sRsPi5CT

 

Leave a Reply

